‘Life in Balance’ by Donna Hay – a review

 

donnahaybook-9I’ve been a fan of Donna Hay for a long time.  I like her fresh approach to food, her simple recipes and the gorgeous food styling and photography.  Her new book ‘Life in Balance’ is a cook book that uses wholefood ingredients and aims to provide healthier recipe ideas from breakfast through to dinner, as well as a few sweet treats and desserts.

Donna Hay isn’t into food rules or diets, and I love that about her.  She’s about balance and that shows through in her new book.  There’s a wide range of dishes, from grains to greens and seafood to vegetarian – there’s no siloed  approach here, just a range of nourishing foods from a range of food groups.

Screen shot 2015-12-08 at 8.36.52 PM

In typical Donna Hay style, this book is full of gorgeous photography and is very much a book to admire as well as to cook from.  In between the recipes, there are sections which showcase ingredients from grains, greens and baking ingredients,  and explains their uses and nutritional properties.

With healthy food recipes, sometimes it seems there is a lot of similarities or repeats, but this book is full of original ideas.  Recipe wise, there is a lot of fresh, new inspiration and I have plenty of recipes bookmarked to try out. The book is divided into breakfasts, recipes made with greens, proteins, grain based foods, light meals, snacks and baking.

I’m really in love with this book and it’s one of my favourite ‘healthier’ recipe books I’ve seen this year. I can’t wait to start cooking from it!

Here’s some of the recipes I want to try:

donnahaybook-4

Screen shot 2015-12-08 at 8.37.59 PM

9781460750322-7

9781460750322-4

 

You can buy the book online here, currently on sale for $40.99. Retail price is $49.99

If you’re keen to get more Donna Hay inspiration, check out her facebook page  and the Fabulous Foodies page here

Congratulations to the winner of the cookbook Kirsten Kane 🙂  Email me via my contact me page to arrange the prize.

 

Screen shot 2015-12-08 at 8.37.59 PM

amaranth oats with cashews

 

 

31 Responses to ‘Life in Balance’ by Donna Hay – a review

  1. Megan December 10, 2015 at 2:22 pm #

    Ooh I’ve been wanting to have a look at this! Love her books

  2. jo December 10, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    this book looks awesome

  3. Ally December 10, 2015 at 9:05 pm #

    Awesome review love donna hay and your blog

  4. Eddy December 10, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

    Enjoyed this review, Donna’s book on healthy balanced foods and recipes is more my style. I agree in the Balance approach and hate the starve and diet focused fads as i call them. Life is about Balance and our eating habits too should be kept in perspective. Love it. Thanks.

  5. Holly Dean December 10, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    Omg this looks so good, I love a cookbook that makes you drool yum!!

  6. Phetmany December 10, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

    Always interested in healthy food recipes!

  7. Melissa Bosson December 10, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    Would love this book! Sounds great ????

  8. Angie Gies December 10, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

    I believe a good balance of food is the best approach to good health and take into consideration energy in versus energy out and eat accordingly

  9. Shenae Sloan December 11, 2015 at 5:44 am #

    This looks like a beautiful cookbook with simple yet nourishing recipes. I would love a copy for myself.

  10. Kelly Blackie December 11, 2015 at 7:21 am #

    Coming into summer I’d love some new summer green recipes! Absolutely stunning book

  11. Meagan Kerr December 11, 2015 at 8:23 am #

    As someone who is also not in to food rules or diets, I am so excited for this book. Balance is the key, right?

  12. Jeskah Denton December 11, 2015 at 8:47 am #

    This look like such an amazing balanced cook book! Those photos had me drooling!

  13. Samantha - PlanetBakeLife December 11, 2015 at 8:59 am #

    I really like Donna Hay. I saw her on Australia Masterchef when we were in the UK and absolutely loved her! She is just awesome with all types of food! Master of all trades 😛

  14. Christel December 11, 2015 at 9:00 am #

    Oh I LOVE the look of this! I’m definitely into keeping everything balanced in life (not just food but everything else!), and this is certainly a book I’d love to check out.

  15. Kate Hepburn December 11, 2015 at 9:17 am #

    Awesome comp. I’d love this book to share all the good stuff!!

  16. Claudia December 11, 2015 at 10:08 am #

    Looks like book full of fresh and flavourful dishes, I’d love to give it a read ????

  17. Anna December 11, 2015 at 11:41 am #

    Great review! Sounds like a lovely wholesome and as many have said balanced, book definitely one to add to the Santa wish list xx

  18. Boni December 11, 2015 at 11:53 am #

    This looks full of good ideas and recipes! Nice photos too

  19. Lesley Burns December 11, 2015 at 1:53 pm #

    I love Donna Hays books because everything she tells us and the recipes seem so achievable.This looks a great way to learn to cook healthy food and make a few sensible changes in your diet

  20. Rebeca December 11, 2015 at 2:05 pm #

    I have seen a few reviews on this book and they all say wonderful things! I love your choices of dishes to try first, it must have been a tough choice!

  21. Kate December 11, 2015 at 2:05 pm #

    Loved this, and the book sounds superlative! The breakfast fritters are particularly lush-looking: can’t wait to give them a whirl for summer balcony-brunches!

  22. Dana December 11, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    I was in the book shop today, trying to decide on a new recipe book to buy. I walked out with nothing! There’s so many amazing ones out at the moment. With this helpful review I may just have to choose this one!

  23. MarMerSea December 11, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

    Dear Santa, this is a hint! This book looks sure to give me back some kitchen mojo.

  24. Karla Byrnes December 11, 2015 at 4:04 pm #

    Have always loved Donna Hay and it sounds like this book doesn’t disappoint. Love the fact that this give alternative options to add other healthy options into the diet whilst also keeping a balance

  25. Aaron December 11, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

    Very nice review. cant wait to try some recipes.

  26. kirstin kane December 11, 2015 at 8:26 pm #

    Love this book the photography is exquisite

  27. Rachael macdonald December 11, 2015 at 10:51 pm #

    This book looks amazing! ????

  28. Myriam Bejjani December 11, 2015 at 10:58 pm #

    Sounds really yum! Cooking books & magazines are some of my little indulgences & joys in life!

  29. Carla T December 12, 2015 at 9:02 am #

    I have used a book of Donna Hays called Fresh and Light which has some great recipes I it. Would love this book!

  30. Courtney December 12, 2015 at 10:12 am #

    I love how all the big foodie writers are doing more whole foods inspired books at the moment! Would love to get my hands on this 🙂

  31. Sarah L December 12, 2015 at 10:37 am #

    Totally agree with you her photography is exquisite!! Like her idea of balance rather than strict diets. Great review 🙂

Leave a Reply

*

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes